Skip navigation

wk1-show-me-what-you-know-project
(Here’s a link to my portfolio [89mb], it’s worth the wait.)

I began the Education Media Design & Technology program as a graphic designer. My professional experience enabled me to use software, as a means to create visually appealing artwork; but I still desired to create things that helped people learn. Fortunately, this program enabled me to gain skills in Web 2.0 technology, game design, visual storytelling, music, e-learning simulations; and fueled my passion to create educational materials to appeal to learners with multiple intelligences.

For the past 9 months, I’ve learned different learning theories and software applications. I’ve learned that utilizing collaborative technology increases a learner’s interpersonal and intrapersonal skills; how visual storytelling can allow a visual, kinesthetic and auditory learner to artistically express ones perspective; how powerful music can be, as it relates to setting tones and facilitating memorization for auditory and kinesthetic learners; and how concept mapping can be used to increase a learner’s visual and logical/mathematical intelligence. Furthermore, I have learned that too many elements on a screen can cause sensory overload and a variety of shots can maximize visual interest. Lastly, I now understand the process in which one takes, in order to design educational material and why it’s important to study your target audience before designing.

Needless to say, I started this program with some knowledge about applications, but I now have a better understanding of how to use them to create educational media. I’m really excited about purchasing Adobe’s CS4 Master Suite upgrade tomorrow. It’s another opportunity to take education media design to another level!

One Comment

  1. Incredible project. Only slight negative was that I had to install a copy of Adobe Reader to view the material. I love the CS suite, but haven’t used Reader in the past, mostly because on the PC side they had a nasty habit of installing things not requested, etc., etc., etc. Way back when I remember making my friends/family up-date their copies of Quicktime before they could watch my videos. Oops. But in your case your e-Portfolio is definitely worth the download. OMG. i can hardly wait to see what you come up with at the end of the course. Great job.


Leave a Reply

